The County Board of Commissioners adopted the 2013-14 fiscal year Clatsop County budget, after amending the budget to add $7,500 in contributions to local social service agencies. The contributions, which totaled $30,000 in the 2012-13 budget year, were recommended for elimination in the upcoming budget as a cost-saving measure to improve the county's financial health.

Commissioners Debra Birkby, Peter Huhtala and Sarah Nebeker voted for the amendment; commissioners Scott Lee and Dirk Rohne voted no. The amended budget was approved unanimously.

The FY 2013-14 county budget totals $52,168,400 with a tax rate of $1.5338 per $1,000 assessed value.

The board also approved the FY 2013-14 budgets for the following service districts without change:

4-H and Extension Service District: $600,300 budget, $0.0534 tax rate

Road District No. 1: $2,948,300 budget, $1.0175 tax rate

Rural Law Enforcement District: $2,781,900 budget, $0.7195 tax rate

Westport Sewer Service District: $148,400 budget

Northwest Lending Group