Washington's boating under the influence law becomes tougher under a law signed Thursday by Washington Gov. Jay Inslee.
The biggest change makes BUI a gross misdemeanor punishable by up to a year in jail and a $5,000 fine.
Boat operators who are suspected of being intoxicated could be fined $1,000 if they refuse a breath or blood test.
Changes in the BUI law take effect July 28.
Brought to you by:
Ohana Media Group
Phone: (503) 861-6620
Fax: (503) 861-6630