Clatsop County continues to invite applications from citizens interested in serving on local budget committees. These citizen committees review the proposed budgets and make recommendations to the county commissioners. Each committee is made up of five county commissioners and five other local residents they appoint. The committees generally meet in May to review the proposed budgets.

Seats are available on the following committees:

Clatsop County Budget Committee:  Three full, three-year terms representing districts 2, 3 and 4 are open on this committee, which reviews the county's overall operating budget. Applicants must live in one of the three districts. District 2 covers Clatsop Plains, Gearhart and portions of Seaside. District 3 covers central Astoria as well as Miles Crossing/Jeffers Garden, Lewis and Clark, Youngs River, Olney, Green Mountain and part of Walluski. District 4 covers eastern Astoria as well as Knappa, Svensen and Westport.

4H Extension Service District Budget Committee: Two full, three-year terms are open on the committee. The district funds secretary staff, program assistants, office space, travel, supplies and other operation expenses to provide support to faculty provided by the Oregon State University Extension Service program. Applicants can live anywhere in the county expect Cannon Beach, which is not part of the district.

Road District 1 Budget Committee: Two full three-year terms and three un-expired terms ending February 28, 2015 are available. The committee reviews the district's budget for roadwork such as cutting brush, patching pot holes, cleaning and replacing culverts, maintaining road shoulders and drainage ditches, grading and re-basing 220 miles of county roads. Applicants must live in the unincorporated areas of the county.

Westport Sewer Service District Budget Committee: One full three-year term, two unexpired terms ending June 30, 2014 and two unexpired terms ending June 30, 2015 are available to residents of the sewer district, which serves about 95 connections in the unincorporated community of Westport.

The Board of Commissioners will make the appointments. Applications will be taken through Feb. 15. Application forms are available online at, from the office at 800 Exchange St., Suite 410, or by calling (503) 325-1000.

Northwest Lending Group