Students who pass the course can apply for their boater education card that is required by Oregon’s mandatory boater education program. All Oregon boaters 12 and older must carry their boater education card when operating powerboats greater than 10 horsepower. Youth 12 to 15 must have a card to operate a boat under 10 horsepower and must also be supervised by a card-holding adult (16 years of age, 18 years of age for Personal Watercraft (PWC) Operators) when operating powerboats greater than 10 horsepower.
You can be cited a hefty fine for not having a card. The Boater Education Card will also provide a savings on your boat insurance. The National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) approves this course and it will be taught by qualified instructors in a positive, relaxed and informative classroom environment. Space is limited for this classroom course! To pre-register for this mandatory boater education course and obtain further information; contact Matthew Carter at (503) 481-6648. Contact www.cgaux.org if you want to learn more about the US Coast Guard Auxiliary.